Mission Statement

I don’t know how long this blog thing is going to last
because, frankly, I don’t write for an audience. But in creating
Sand from a Distant Shore, I had three purposes in mind that
finally pushed me to do it. In order of importance:
Web Comic. I’m not an artist; I write
novels and plan to eventually get published in the fantasy genre.
However, I do like drawing and have had the secret desire to do a
web comic for the past five or six years now. Though I’ve tried
twice in the past and didn’t get very far with either one, I feel
that now is the proper time to try again. My commitment is that I
will not commit to it — thus, it will probably get further than
the last two attempts. πŸ˜‰ Japanese
Practice.
Every now and then, I plan to have a post
that is entirely in Japanese. This time last year I had enough
skill with the language to pass JLPT 2kyuu. Now I’m lucky if I have
the chance to speak it for a full minute. I refuse to let
my skills degrade any further!

Stories. I’ve been a lot of places and
seen a lot. Some of my experiences need to go into story form, and
this is where I will do that. I predict the first few will largely
concern my time in Japan last year. But as I am neither an otaku
nor a weaboo (nor a delusional social outcast) I can guarantee
these stories will be enjoyable… unless you hate Mt. Fuji,
traditional Japanese dance, and beautiful places in general. πŸ˜›
~M

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. French Bean
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 05:19:55

    Whoa. I was in middle school counting down to Y2K when you started this blog. o_O

    Reply

Leave a Reply

