“Linguist”

Just thought I’d clear this up once and for all.

Since beginning Korean language classes, several of my fellow ETA’s have commented on the fact that I’m so good at picking up the language. “Well, you’re a linguist,” they say. “It’s easier for you.”

This has also come up a few times while I was trying to tutor someone. I could understand her frustration — being under a lot of pressure to learn a language so unlike English, in so short a time span, can really do a number on you. At the same time, “you’re a linguist” was quickly becoming this person’s number one excuse as to why I “got it” and she “didn’t.”

1. Linguists are not professional language learners.

As the slideshow emphasized, we are scientists. I didn’t get my degree by learning Japanese; I earned it by conducting research and experiments, by memorizing statistics and writing formulas. Though yes, having a background in a foreign language was one requirement of the program. In any case, while I can’t tell you the Quechua word for “antidisestablishmentarianism,” I can give you such trivia as this:

  • Fewer than 9% of the world’s languages do not have fricatives.
  • Object-Subject-Verb is one of six potential word orders in language, yet there are perhaps only 5 languages in the world that use it — close to 0%.
  • In linguist speak, “a lower low-central unrounded oral vowel followed by a voiceless grooved aspirated alveo-palatal affricate with egressive lung air followed by an extended high back rounded oral vowel” is the description for a sneeze.

2. Being a linguist doesn’t entail having epic language learning skills.

We have to memorize vocabulary and practice our grammar and verb conjugations just like everyone else. Being a linguist does not mean that every aspect of language learning suddenly becomes easy. Sure, I can tell you that the Korean ㅃ is a tense, non-aspirated, voiced bilabial stop — but does that automatically mean I can pronounce it? And I’m not even physically capable of articulating that lovely French R, which is actually a voiced uvular fricative.

Likewise, does knowing that a language is agglutinative and that its word order is Subject-Object-Verb mean that I automatically know how to add and conjugate each individual verb ending?

That’s not to say that having some familiarity with the concepts doesn’t help. But that’s not something you get solely from studying Linguistics, either…

3. Not being a linguist does not mean you are doomed to forever live in a linguist’s shadow.

First, for most any language you can take a formal class on, there is a multitude of textbooks you can use, and each takes a different approach. I have one Korean textbook, for instance, that actually takes a lot of time to explain just the concepts in Korean that are completely foreign to monolingual English speakers. If I didn’t have a background in Japanese, this would be my number one resource.

Second, if you are fluent, near-fluent, or even conversational in just one language other than your native tongue, picking up your third language will be a lot easier because you now have about twice as many neural connections in your brain than a monolingual — congrats! And for every language you add on, you build more connections. It just keeps getting easier!

Finally, there is one thing I will concede to here: things do tend to click and stick with me in class more than with my classmates, and not just because I read ahead and know Japanese.

Yes, it is because I am a linguist — I love language! I get excited for real-life encounters with linguistic phenomena I’ve read about, as well as those that are completely new to me. I love the speech patterns of native speakers, and so I notice their intonation and pronunciation and hence acquire it more quickly myself. I also love comparing Korean with Japanese because, guess what one of the greatest debates of the last decade was? The historical relationship between them! Now I can examine the research of my linguistic heroes right in the field!

You don’t need to have a degree in Linguists to find the subject fascinating, though. Think about it: of all the billions of people on this planet, not one of us lacks a language. Whether we use our mouths, our hands, writing, dance, you name it — we all need and use language every day. Everything we will ever want to communicate to another living being must be done in language. And yet so many of us are barred from doing so because our arbitrary collections of sounds and symbols doesn’t match those used by speakers of other languages. Heck, even sharing a language can’t avoid all miscommunications!

But without these thousands and thousands of languages, entire cultures wouldn’t exist. With every language lost to time, assimilation, or prestige, we also lose words carrying concepts that exist in no other language. No German, no schadenfreude. No Korean, no neunchi.

Feeling more inspired to learn a new language? I’m going to open this up:

What language would you like to learn, and what is its appeal to you? 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barb the French Bean
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 14:07:29

    From now on, I’m gonna call you “language hippy.” 😄

    Reply

  2. Barb the French Bean
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 14:23:29

    And some languages that I would like to learn are Italian, Portuguese, Romanian and German. It’s one of my life goals to speak the (major) Romance languages and I never quite got over the fact that I couldn’t learn the latter because the tutor owned cats and I was allergic to them. 😛

    Reply

    • seilann
      Jul 31, 2012 @ 11:00:43

      I love Romanian! And I really wish I’d been able to continue with Italian. One day, for sure…

      Yes, I am a language hippie. Free love to all languages! Language equality!

      Mulțumesc for replying!

      Reply

  3. landofthenotsomorningcalm
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 20:41:12

    I am so happy you wrote this post. I’m also a linguist and just /love/ the question “Oh! You’re a linguist? How many languages do you speak?” I study Korean and Spanish, and the linguistic knowledge helps but doesn’t attribute to my language learning ability. I usually explain to people that “Linguistics is a language for talking about language.” When I tell my friends about some linguistic things, they almost always say, “I had no idea that was linguistics… That’s actually really neat!”

    Reply

    • seilann
      Aug 01, 2012 @ 07:30:10

      Hey, that’s a great way to put it! I would definitely agree that Linguistics is its own language — IPA, syntax trees, semantic diagrams… Sometimes I feel that mathematicians and other types of scientists might understand us more than anyone else. Even the hardcore polyglots. 😉

      Thanks for commenting!

      Reply

  4. Andrew
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 13:49:22

    Hooray for a fellow linguist! While I didn’t get into linguistics myself as a result of studying foreign languages, I think it was actually the other way around: after I started linguistics, I learned tons of cool facts about other languages that made me then want to learn how to speak them. 🙂

    Reply

    • seilann
      Aug 05, 2012 @ 13:44:40

      I think it’s one of those unending cycles — one interest feeds the other, which feeds right back into the first. 🙂

      So how did you get into Linguistics?

      Reply

  5. Trackback: Observe, Your Social Networks Influence Your Preferences And Your Friends’ Preference Choice! « Life is Mysterious
  6. Trackback: “Linguist” « Minds of Treeluv

Leave a Reply

