Little Slices of Naju Life 001

The other day, as I stood at a crosswalk, the light turned green and I felt the distinct absence of an accompanying sound — only to realize that crosswalk tones don’t seem to exist in Korea.

The rest of the way home, Tooryanse played on repeat in my head.

(And gods do I miss Kyoto as I listen to that song…)

**

Café Vill is a trendy little place just north of Naju’s downtown area. It is now the official hangout of the Naju Nine (of which we are still five) and we have thus far been fortunate enough to get the same table each time. I’ve been trying to make a habit of getting something different each visit:

Iced Green Tea Latte

Iced Caramel Macchiato

Iced Caramel Mocha

Patbingsu

As you can see, it’s not yet the season for hot beverages. ; )

**

My host sister is the cutest thing ever. Even with a blood-thirsty sickle at her feet.

Hio

Every night she comes up with new themes for us to draw together. After I introduced her to My Neighbor Totoro on Sunday, this happened:

Totoro, his leaf, and the Catbus!

Now if only she’d stop commanding me to play or draw every time she sees me until eleven at night…

**

Autumn is looking for an early pounce in Naju. It’s only September 6 and already the air is cool enough that I’d be comfortable in long sleeves. My host mom left the house today in a windbreaker. I love autumn — it’s my favorite season. And somehow the weather today really brings me back to Kyoto in early spring.

But here’s hoping this lasts and winter decides to dawdle, or I might freeze to death before I can get back to Japan.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deannesher
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 22:20:14

    Tooryanse reminds me of that movie of the tire that rolls around causing all sorts of mayhem . Love the bambooo shot-actually looks like Japan , or China Tonkin cane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

