Korean Homestay #2

Due to some added stress with her job, my old host mom decided it would be better for me to change home stays so I could be properly taken care of. I trusted her decision, and her choice of my new host family, and so yesterday evening I finally moved into my new home.

And wow, I lucked out again.

Location-wise, the new place is even more convenient than my old one, though the city noises are pretty pervasive. My host mom runs a restaurant downtown, and the flat is on the second floor of that. I can walk to my school — and pretty much everywhere else — in just ten minutes now, rather than taking the bus. Finally, consistent exercise! Though it’s a bit less than I was getting in Miami. (For perspective, my apartment to my job at FIU was close to a twenty-minute walk, and I only lived across the street!) My room is large and comfy, and my new (real) bed has a heater.

It is the Best Bed Ever.

My host mom, Yeong-suk, speaks very little English, but so far we’ve been able to communicate pretty well thanks to receptive skills and gestures. She also calls upon my new 12-year-old host brother to translate sometimes. I have yet to meet my host dad, though I know he exists; a sinus headache got the better of me today so I’ve been in my room pretty much the whole time. Yeong-suk brought me food, including ye good ole Korean “hamburger,” which was actually not bad. Her son, Tae-hyeong, brought me water. They’re both sweet, caring people. : )

That’s all I’ve got for now. I’ll definitely get some photos once my phone is charged up, but the wifi here comes and goes so I don’t know when I can post them.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barb the French Bean
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 14:20:48

    I’m glad that you lucked out again, May, and that you are surrounded by kind, friendly people. 🙂 Take care of yourself, my friend!!! (I send you virtual hugs from the other quarter of the world, ha ha.)

    Reply

    • seilann
      Oct 08, 2012 @ 11:41:13

      Hugs! 😀 I’ve been reading your blog, too, btw. Things just seem to interrupt the last couple times I’ve gone to comment. :p

      Also, I could seriously use a writers’ night about now!

      Reply

  2. deannesher
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 11:16:37

    Now I am worried about the little girl,, who loved to command you to draw– will you be seeing any of her/ I feel for her. You just have the boy now huh/ He;s a very good speaker of English?Glad you got a bed-you never complained about none so I have to guess–it was a mat?

    Reply

    • seilann
      Oct 08, 2012 @ 11:42:41

      It was a cot. Less comfortable than the couch bed. But they slept in one room on the floor, so I really can’t complain.

      My old host mom says they’ll visit every weekend.

      Reply

  3. deannesher
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 19:09:43

    Do you teach English English or plundered or discuss both? (a lit-toll boy, a liddle
    boy)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

